24th January 2013

Dutch finance minister appointed new Eurogroup president

On 21 January, finance ministers of the Eurozone appointed their new president, Dutch Minister of Finance Jeroen Dijsselbloem. Mr Dijsselbloem takes over from Jean-Claude Juncker and according to Protocol 14 to the Lisbon Treaty, the president of the Eurogroup is elected by a majority of its members for a term of two and a half years.

Mr Djisselbloem was appointed finance minister in November 2012 and he had been member of Dutch House of Representatives since 2000. He has been member of Dutch Labour Party since 1985 and he speaks fluent English and Dutch.

For more information, click here.

Members of the American Chamber of Commerce in the Czech Republic